It’s been a positive weekend from a cycling perspective, and I’ve now crossed a significant number of goals off of my list already!

We went to visit my wife’s parents in Dorset, and I took my bike down to experience the countryside down there, it’s stunning!

I came to a manned level crossing in East Stoke towards the end of the ride, and the attendant opened the gates to let me through along with a car behind me. Naturally this was the point I had my first SPD related wobble, managed to get my foot out just in time and keep it upright, but I very nearly tumbled on the mainline Waterloo to Penzance!  The ride itself was stunning, starting with a gradual 4.5 mile ascent before heading South past Bovington tank training centre and Monkey World and the following National Cycle Route 2 from Wool towards Wareham – the use of NCR 2 wasn’t intentional, in fact I didn’t even know it went so close to Wareham.  The route was pleasant, and the long uphill drag at the beginning was a challenge, my speed dropped to walking pace on more than one occasion  however after 11 miles I felt positive and not too burned out.

Image

Image

Image

On Sunday I wanted to get out again, this time following NCR2 until I got bored and wanted breakfast, however as I was about to walk out of the door the heavens opened and I had a mild change of heart. We had breakfast and headed back towards home. I have been badgering my wife to join me on the bike for a family bimble for some time now, and we stopped off at Halfords for her to see what sort of bikes are out there. To cut a long story short we are picking her new bike (with basket on the front and baby seat on the back!) on Friday. She settled on one of these:

Image

I know Halfords can get a bad wrap regarding Bike Shaped Objects, however this is a solid bike, at a reasonable price and is perfect for the sort of riding my wife will do! The one downside is that most child seats aren’t compatible, so we had to go for a Topeak solution with a rear rack fitting.

When we got home the weather was glorious and once we’d unpacked the car I headed out around the local countryside, making a point of going places I’d never visited since we moved in last year, a little over 6 miles for this one.

Image

Finally today. I fulfilled one of my primary goals which was to cycle to work. We used to live in Dulwich, about 5 miles from the office, so very early this morning I loaded the Tachyon into the back of the Land Rover and drove just over 22 miles to our old house, hopped on the bike and cycled to work! No dramas, though being back in the rush hour traffic on a pushbike instead of a motorcycle was enlivening! I’ve not been overtaken on a commute for nearly a year!

I arrived at the office after taking around 30 mins to cover the distance, pleased with myself and early enough for a shower.

Image

Overall I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself at the moment, however the ride back to the car tonight is all, baring two short descents, uphill. So I expect a little pain on the return leg. Watch this space!

