I’m sitting here with a TENS machine strapped to my back, dosed up on ibuprofen, paracetamol and codeine. Not a great start to day two of the rest of my life.  I can take some solace in the fact that had I not pulled out of the London to Brighton through lack of fitness, this pain means I’d have pulled out for medical reasons. Still a fail though.

Image

The back pain I’ve had since Sunday has been worsening daily, to the point where yesterday I sought urgent medical help. I’ve been diagnosed with a herniated disc, which in turn is pushing on a nerve bundle in my lower back causing pain there, and sciatica in my leg. It has a 6 – 12 week recovery time.

Of course, this isn’t the opinion of a doctor, you see they’ve gone on strike in the UK today, for the first time in my lifetime.

I’ve not even turned a wheel on the bike yet. I’m sure that this is weight related (or at least weight worsened) and rather than take it as a sign (excuse) not to get on the bike as the ‘old’ me might have done, I’m going to use it as the impetus to drive change in my life.  In the meantime picture this, a 6’2″, 22 stone man kneeling on the floor, leaning over the coffee table, the only position that seems to relieve the pain.

As leaning forward relieves the pressure on the nerves it seems I might be able to start some light cycling in the next few days.

Just as soon as I can get up off the floor.

20120621-072937.jpg

excuse the crack shot.

